(not to be confused with Cauliflower Ear)

Most author interviews, agent panels, and editor Q&As include the advice “read.” And most authors describe their childhood selves as “a voracious reader.” Which makes me wonder, do you think there’s such a thing as “writer’s ear?”

Like a musician knows when notes are off, writers can often tell when words aren’t working. I bring this up because I worked on some picture book ideas this week (not my forte) and, when re-reading, got very strong feelings about what worked and what didn’t. But what sounds off to my ear might not to someone else’s.

So what do you guys think? Is there such thing as “writer’s ear” and are you born with it, or can it be learned?

Also, today is the last day to enter my One Year Blogiversary (plus one week) giveaway. Leave a comment on this post to enter!

