So this was on YABOOKNERD awile (OK, a long time) ago, and this is all the brain power I have for a Friday 🙂

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack:

I snack all the time. Favorite reading snack is either chocolate or Skittles, same as necessary writing snacks. And Diet Coke. Always Diet Coke.

What is your favorite drink while reading?

(Note to self: read ahead). So yeah, Diet Coke. Hot chocolate if it’s rainy or cold.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

Only in nonfiction books. The first time I marked in a book in college, I felt like such a rebel. Remember that rush you got from writing your name in the front of a classroom textbook? But in fiction books, never. I don’t even put my name in the front. Only exception: I’ll write a note on the title page if it’s a gift.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

Used to dog-ear, thankfully stopped that. I own about a billion bookmarks, but of course never use them; random receipts stay in place much better. If I get interrupted (ex: The PopTarts are done, husband says “the cows are out”), I’ll lay the book flat.

Fiction, non-fiction, or both?

Usually fiction. Non-fiction if it’s research or farm-related.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?

I prefer to stop at chapter endings, otherwise I’ll have to re-read a page or two when starting up again. Who am I kidding, that happens anyway.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?

No, but I yell at characters and make weird noises (often at the same time).

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?

I probably should but I don’t. I just take the context and move on.

What are you currently reading?

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (finally).

What is the last book you bought?

Check the Powell’s swag post.

Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?

Usually just one. Sometimes I’ll try one fiction and one non-fiction, but I just get caught up in the fiction. And there’re so many books to read…

Do you have a favorite time/place to read?

ALL THE TIME! Of course, that’s not always possible, so usually before bed. And in the car. I can’t imagine how different my childhood would’ve been if I got car sick.

Do you prefer series books or stand alones?

No preference, but I do hate waiting for the next book in a series to be released 🙂

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?

There are so many great books and authors out there! My family and friends tend more toward young adult than middle grade, so my John Green books, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire, and Shiver are making the rounds.

How do you organize your books? (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)

I had a very specific series-based random system growing up (I know it sounds weird…and it was), then I went through an alphabetizing phase. Then, when we moved a few months ago, we inherited this bookshelf John’s great-grandfather made (which is awesome), but the top shelves are really small (which interrupts the alphabetizing). So they’re all over the place now. (Unpacking sounded like this: “Ooo, Dealing with Dragons is small. And The Odyssey. And, God bless them, all these Redwall books!”)

What are your answers to some of these?

