Have you ever imagined a world where new and used, hardcover and paperback books all lived on hundreds of shelves together in harmony, waiting to be discovered by eager readers? Folks, I have found that place and it is Powell’s City of Books in Portland, Oregon.

This isn’t a little-known, out-of-the-way bookstore; it takes up an entire city block in downtown Portland and has three stories of awesomeness (or four? I lost count. Seriously). I knew it was on-like-Donkey-Kong when we walked in and found by the check out counter 1) Don’t Let Pigeon Drive the Bus and 2) 200 Easy Homemade Cheese Recipes. Hello heaven!

Obviously, most of my time was spent in the Rose Room, home to the children’s, MG, and YA sections. You want it, they had it. John Green books on sale for $5? Check. The new Rick Riordan and Jacqueline West books? Bingo. Books I didn’t know I needed until I saw them? Oh yeah!

I limited myself to one shopping basket full (mainly for airline luggage weight restrictions) and have been reading like a fiend ever since. Bask in the awesomeness:

Have you ever been to Powell’s? What are your favorite bookstores?

