Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird is celebrating it’s 50th anniversary this year, and thanks to my in-laws, I have a legitimate celebration that allows me to both talk about literary figures and post pictures of cows. Seriously.

Most dairy farmers who name their animals use the first letter of the mother’s name for the subsequent daughters, granddaughters, etc. (it turns literary, just stay with me). But my in-laws are more category-oriented people. We have:

  • The “tree” family, including Willow and Mahogany
  • The “political” family, including Eleanor and, my favorite, the twins Hillary and Tipper (I told you the in-laws were fun people)
  • The “Star Wars” family, which started with my sister-in-law naming a cow Leia and then naming her daughter Amidala. My father-in-law can never remember “Amidala,” so the poor thing gets called “Aba-dabba-do.” I can’t make this stuff up.
  • There’s even a “writer” family (see, told you literary was coming) with Jane Austen, Emily Dickinson, and Maya Angelou. But beyond the writerly ladies, there is a specific To Kill A Mockingbird family.

    The Boo-ster

As shown with the Hillary and Tipper (true) story, my in-laws especially have fun with twins. So about three years ago, these twin girls were born that they named (I swear I’m not making this up) Boo and Radley. From that day on, my mother-in-law has been waiting for one of them to have a heifer. And one month ago, my father-in-law interrupted milking with the phrase, “You have your Scout.” Yes readers, Boo had a heifer who is cute enough and spunky enough to earn the name Scout. So congratulations on 50 years, Harper Lee and To Kill A Mockingbird, your legacy lives on.

Scout - ohhhh so cute

Any nominations for other literary names we can use in the future?

