Does music help writing?

This question generated some good discussion on the SCBWI-Iowa listserv, so I thought I’d bring it up here. Personally, I don’t do well with quiet; our house is too creaky and I freak out pretty easily, so I like to have something playing in the background. I will turn the music off if I’m reading out loud or really trying to focus, but usually some nice classical music is just the ticket for me. And sometimes really angry rock music if I’m trying to write an emotional scene (or if my husband’s in a bluegrass music phase).

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what are your favorite songs? Post in the comments section and we’ll compile a “writing playlist.” Or do you prefer “the sounds of silence?”

P.S. – Just for kicks, enjoy Ricky Gervais singing Elmo to sleep.

That’s right, I figured out how to put a video in my post. *Psych voice* Whaaaaaaaat!

