Linda Skeers is the author of TUTUS AREN’T MY STYLE, released today from Dial. Linda, thank you so much for visiting The Writing Cave! It’s always nice to find another Captain Jack Sparrow fan 🙂

First off, you mention on your website that you snort when you laugh (which is awesome). Any inopportune snorting stories to share?

I’ve been trying for years to break this very unladylike habit. Alas, my husband has made it his mission in life to make me laugh so hard at least once a day that I snort. So, he’s winning this battle. *snort*

How do you personally feel about tutus? Is your new book semi-autobiographical?

It’s very autobiographical! I loved catching frogs, digging holes and climbing trees when I was young. Never in my wildest imagination did I see my clumsy, awkward self as a ballerina! I see so many picture books about princesses and ballerinas and wondered if there were other girls out there like me… this book is for them!

Absolutely, hoorah for the tomboys! How does your writing process work?

I’m not sure I have a process! I wish I was more structured but I write at different times in little bursts. My biggest problem is procrastination! I may resort to duct taping my behind to the chair.

Hmm, not a bad idea. When you’re out of your chair, what things do you do to promote your books?

I love doing school visits and talking about books and writing. I’m not good at self-promotion but I enjoy teaching workshops and attending conferences and meeting with other writers.

Looking back on 2009, what were your three favorite reads last year?

Only three? RHYMING DUST BUNNIES because of the quirky humor. Made me laugh (and snort!) out loud. THE HATE LIST because it’s such a dark subject (school shooting) but yet it’s hard to put down — or forget. A WHIFF OF PINE, A HINT OF SKUNK — poems you want to read again and again.

Ooo, good suggestions. Do you own an electronic reader? Do you have an opinion on ebooks?

Don’t have one and I don’t have plans to get one. I like holding a book in my hands. I like the texture, the smell, the whole experience!

What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Keep writing and submitting! Take classes, join a critique group, and READ what’s currently being published in your genre.

Great advice! My critique group has helped me so much that I can’t imagine doing this without them. What are you working on next?

A middle grade novel that’s been stuck in my brain for years (I’m pulling it out with tweezers) and a chapter book. I tend to jump from one project to another which means it takes forever to finish a manuscript.

I’m a cheese freak, so I have to ask: what’s your favorite cheese and why?

Cheddar. Love cheddar on Triscuits! Followed closely by pepperjack.

Mmm pepperjack. One of my favorites too. Thanks so much for stopping by, Linda! Check out TUTUS AREN’T MY STYLE and learn more about Linda on her website (be sure to check out the character collection).

