Eileen Boggess is the author of the Mia Fullerton series consisting of Mia the Meek, Mia the Melodramatic, and Mia the Magnificent. She is also a fellow central Iowan!

Eileen, thank you so much for visiting The Writing Cave. First off, your website says Mia started as a response to an assignment you gave your students. What did they think of the finished product?

They were very kind, but then again, I was their teacher and had the power to fail them :). These students are all now juniors in college.

Do your kids ever get nervous that something they say or do will end up in a book?

I just asked my fifteen year-old daughter this question and she said that sometimes she regrets telling me a story after I say, “That would be a great idea for a book!” So, I guess the answer is yes.

You’ve clearly got this writing thing figured out. How does your writing process work?

I wish I had the writing thing figured out! My process is write for a few pages at a time, then the next day, review what I have written, change everything, then write a few more pages. I do this for about a year and then I give it to my editor and he has me completely revise it again!

My biggest problem is finding time to write. A few times I have checked myself into a hotel and written for 12 hours straight.

That’s not a bad idea! So what things do you do to promote your books?

I do a lot of school visits. Also, word of mouth seems to help as well. For my last book, my editor sent review copies to popular book review bloggers and so far, I have received wonderful reviews. Hopefully this will help as well.

It’s so nice to have people appreciating all that hard work. Looking back on 2009, what were your three favorite reads last year?

That is a tough question because I love too many books. I really enjoyed BREATHE MY NAME by R.A. Nelson (who came to an Iowa SCBWI event) FAIREST OF THEM ALL by Iowan Jan Blazanin, SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson, HOW I LIVE NOW by Meg Rosoff, and A HIGHER GEOMETRY by Iowan Sharelle Byars Moranville.

Do you own an electronic reader? Do you have an opinion on ebooks?

I don’t own one but I would love to get one. If anyone is feeling overly generous, they can send one to me 🙂

I think ebooks are great. I write so people can read what I’ve written. I don’t care how, where, or when they read my books, I just want them to be enjoyed!

Very true. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

The simple answer is read, read, read and write, write, write! Then, study other people’s writing, learn the business, and join a writer’s group. If you are talented enough, with a little luck, and a lot of perseverance, it will happen.

What are you working on next?

I am working on a young adult manuscript that includes political scandal, a dead body, and road kill. Also, my editor has asked me to collaborate with his assistant editor to write a romantic comedy screenplay, so I am excited about that as well.

Wow, that IS exciting! Maybe you could get a cameo role 🙂 Finally, I’m a cheese freak, so I have to ask: what’s your favorite cheese and why?

I like smoked cheddar cheese because it goes well with salami and I tend to like the most fattening foods possible 🙂

Mmm that sounds good! Thanks so much Eileen. Read more about Eileen and the Mia Fullerton series at her website and blog.

