The rest of 2010 is going to have a lot to live up to, because my reading so far this year has been Percy Jackson and The Olympians books 2 through 5 by Rick Riordin and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. (If you are thinking “It’s about time,” you’re right!)

First, let’s talk Percy Jackson. I read the first book, The Lightning Thief, around Thanksgiving last year and received the set for Christmas. The last two books were devoured in one day through a series of airline delays, and book one has already been passed along to my sister. Obviously, these books are crazy awesome. Bonus: The Lightning Thief movie comes out on my birthday next month! Anyone want to come geek out with me?

I may be the last person in the world to read The Hunger Games, and now I must buy Catching Fire and pre-order book three! I haven’t decided if I’m Team Gale or Team Peeta; maybe book two will clarify things for me (yeah right). Any preferences out there?

Both of these series’, or at least the first book in each, are being made into movies. I think The Hunger Games will be harder to translate on screen, just because of more internal emotion. But I’m sure looking forward to both! Which are you more excited about?

