Has anyone else noticed library publicity in the media the last few weeks? First, we have the “Geek the Library” campaign. I geek cheese, cows, and sports, when I’m not raiding the young adult section, or as my husband puts it, “taking books from children.” (He’s very supportive, just amused at my preferred reading material. I remind him it will pay off someday.)

Then I heard a radio commercial for Literacy.org. Anyone have experience with this group?

Finally, a news article combining two of my favorite things: ice cream and the library. Hello wonderfulness!

So with all these notices in the media and summer reading programs winding down, I can’t help remembering my favorite library moments. I was lucky enough to work at the local public library in high school shelving picture books, and it always made my day to pull an old favorite off the shelving cart. I also volunteered, preparing crafts and props for storytime. I just love libraries with the book smell and (mostly) everything in order, waiting for me to wander the shelves…

What’s your favorite library memory?

Quotes of the Week: (too many great library-related quotes to narrow down to one!)

“A library is thought in cold storage.”  ~Herbert Samuel

“We may sit in our library and yet be in all quarters of the earth.”  ~John Lubbock

“A university is just a group of buildings gathered around a library.”  ~Shelby Foote

