One day, the time comes when you realize it’s time to move on from your own edits and the thoughts of your devoted family (“It’s the best book ever”) and search out some different opinions.

Today was my first critique group meeting with my work being discussed, and I am so lucky to have found this group of talented ladies. About an hour after introducing myself to the SCWBI-Iowa listserv, I had an invitation from the lovely Phyllis Harris to check out their group, and it could not have come at a better time. I’m happy to say I survived the critique and came away with renewed energy and some great ideas.

Looking for a critique group? Check your local library (many groups choose to meet in their native surroundings), universities, and writer’s organizations. There are also numerous online forums. The important thing is to find people whose opinions you trust and that push you to use your best words.

What has your experience been with critique groups? Anyone using online forums rather than face-to-face meetings?

Wednesday’s post: LinkFest with a list of literary agent blogs.

Quote of the Week:

“Substitute “damn” every time you’re inclined to write “very;” your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.”  ~Mark Twain

